Mayor Nutter Announces Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service Recipient

Philadelphia – Mayor Michael A. Nutter congratulated Carlton Williams, Streets Department Deputy Commissioner, as the recipient of the inaugural Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service, which recognizes the contributions of outstanding city employees whose work performance embodies excellence in public service. As part of the award, Mr. Williams will receive a $5,000 after-tax cash prize; four tickets to the Mayor’s box for an event of his choice; his name on a plaque that will be placed in City Hall and a luncheon for Mr. Williams, his family and nominators.

“Philadelphia’s municipal employees are some of the most dedicated, knowledgeable and principled in the country, and Carlton is a great individual who is a model for excellence in public service,” said Mayor Nutter. “It is with great honor that we present him with the inaugural Richardson Dilworth Award. His commitment to improving Philadelphia’s streets and to creating a more livable, sustainable and cleaner city is inspiring. I would like to thank the selection panel who put in a lot of time to choose the recipient as well as Dilworth Paxson, LLP for sponsoring this award and the Fund for Philadelphia for managing the program. ”

Mr. Williams, as Deputy Streets Commissioner, has helped to lead Mayor Nutter’s Philly Spring Cleanup initiative for the past four years, which has removed 5.76 million pounds of trash from Philadelphia’s streets through the help of more than 48,000 volunteers. He implemented citywide single stream and weekly residential recycling, which has helped to raise the city’s recycling diversion to 19 percent and growing. Additionally, Mr. Williams developed the City’s Unlitter Us campaign designed to reduce litter through changing Philadelphia’s trash disposal behavior, and he championed the City’s installation of Big Bellies, new solar powered trash collectors.

“I am truly honored to receive this award, and I will strive to continue to work by the virtues the award recognizes,” said Carlton Williams. “The hard work and commitment of my co-workers, Commissioner Tolson and Deputy Mayor Cutler have made this possible, and I would like to express my gratitude for their counsel, inspiration and friendship over the years. I humbly accept this award on behalf of all of the dedicated employees that work for the citizens of Philadelphia. There are many wonderful people that work for this fine city and I am honored to have been selected among a distinguished group of public servants.”

Deputy Mayor Rina Cutler added, “Public servants with an enduring commitment to their city, such as Carlton, are role models not only for every other City employee but for all Philadelphians. Carlton’s commitment to his city goes beyond his work. He volunteers his time as a Pop Warner football coach and is President of the Oak Lane Youth Association. I am delighted that such an esteemed City employee and community leader will be honored with the inaugural Richardson Dilworth Award.”

Streets Commissioner Clarena I.W. Tolson said, “Carlton is a dedicated public servant who has served with humility and honor while working in three City departments: Fairmount Park, Recreation and Streets Department. His leadership in our city’s communities and in the Department has helped the City to implement many new, innovative initiatives that will leave an imprint on Philadelphia in the decades to come.”

Carlton Williams was selected among 180 nominations for City employees from departments and offices around the city. Nominations were accepted from City employees, managers as well as from the general public. The award honors a current, full-time executive branch employee with at least three years of continuous service and no recent disciplinary violations. The award is being sponsored by Dilworth Paxson LLP and is managed by The Fund for Philadelphia, Inc.

“The selection panel was faced with the challenging decision of picking a single City employee from the many qualified and inspiration nominees. I would like to thank all the members of the panel for their hours of service so we could recognize one of our City’s outstanding public servants,” said Joseph Jacovini, the Chairman of the Selection Panel and the Chairman of Dilworth Paxson, LLP. “This award, named in honor of Mayor Richardson Dilworth, is a tribute to his memory, legacy and dedication to service to of the City of Philadelphia.”

The selection panel members are:

  • Joseph Jacovini, Chairman, Dilworth Paxson LLP
  • Nina Ahmad, PrymeJenomix, LLC
  • Bishop Audrey Bronson, Black Clergy of Philadelphia and Vicinity
  • John Chin, Chinatown CDC
  • Patricia Coulter, Urban League of Philadelphia
  • Helen Cunningham, Samuel S. Fels Fund
  • Deborah Dilworth Bishop
  • Liz Dow, Leadership Philadelphia
  • Cynthia Figueroa, CONGRESO
  • Joseph Frick, Diversified Search
  • Susan O. Jaffe, Community Volunteer and former Chair of the Zoning Board of Adjustment
  • Charisse Lillie, Comcast Corporation
  • Michael A. Rashid, AmeriHealth Mercy Family of Companies
  •  Jennifer Rodriguez, Asociación de Puertorriqueños en Marcha
  • Stella Tsai, Archer & Greiner, P.C.
  • Anna Verna, Former Council President
  • Robert Wonderling, Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce