Mayor Nutter Opens Nominations For The Second Annual Richardson Dilworth Award

Mayor Michael A. Nutter opened the nomination period for the second annual Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service. The Dilworth Award recognizes the contributions of an outstanding current, full-time, executive branch public employee whose work exemplifies excellence in public service.

The Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service is sponsored by Dilworth Paxson LLP and managed by the Fund for Philadelphia.

“For Philadelphia public servants, it is not just a job but a commitment to improve a City they love and call home. These dedicated people deserve recognition for their sacrifices, loyalty, and integrity,” said Mayor Nutter. “Following in the footsteps of its namesake, the winner of the Richardson Dilworth Award will display an excellence in job performance, professionalism and will reflect the hard work of all City of Philadelphia workers.”

Anyone may submit a nomination for the award. Nomination forms are available online at www.dilworthaward.org. Paper nomination forms can be picked up and submitted at the Fund for Philadelphia Office, room 708 of City Hall. Nominations will be accepted until Thursday, November 15, 2012. Cabinet members, department,s or agency heads are not eligible for nomination. Nominated employees must have served for three consecutive years and have no recent disciplinary violations.

The winner will be chosen by a selection committee, chaired by Joseph H. Jacovini, chairman of Dilworth Paxson LLP. Members of the selection committee represent the public, private and philanthropic sectors, as well as diverse communities across the City.

“I am honored to chair the extremely respected and knowledgeable selection panel for the Richardson Dilworth award,” said Joseph Jacovini. “Richardson Dilworth was a fearless leader of Philadelphia, who believed in and advocated real opportunities for public employees. The recipient of this award exemplifies this great tradition.”

The winner of the Richardson Dilworth Award will receive a $5,000 after taxes cash prize, four tickets to the Mayor’s Box event of his or her choice, the employee’s name engraved on a plaque on display in City Hall and an honorary luncheon for the winner, his or her family, and nominators.

The winner of the first annual Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service was Carlton Williams, formerly a Streets Department Deputy Commissioner. Williams is now the Commissioner for the Department of Licenses and Inspections.