Mayor Nutter opens Nominations for the Richardson Dilworth Award

Mayor Michael A. Nutter opened the nomination period for the third annual Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service. The Dilworth Award recognizes the contributions of an outstanding current, full-time, executive branch public employee whose work exemplifies excellence in public service.

“The Richardson Dilworth Award is an opportunity for the community to recognize the integrity, professionalism and dedication to excellence of the public servants who work tirelessly on behalf of our great City every day. The nominees for the Dilworth Award are representatives of the many public employees who live in, work for and love Philadelphia,” said Mayor Nutter. “I want to encourage citizens and City employees to nominate public servants who go above and beyond their job description to provide exemplary service to our citizens.”

Anyone may submit a nomination for the award. Nomination forms are available online at www.dilworthaward.org. Paper nomination forms are available at the Fund for Philadelphia Office, room 708 of City Hall. Nominations will be accepted until Friday, November 15, 2013. Cabinet members, department or agency heads are not eligible for nomination. Nominated employees must have served for three consecutive years and have no recent disciplinary violations.

The Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service is sponsored by Dilworth Paxson LLP and Independence Blue Cross.

The winner will be chosen by a selection committee comprised of representatives from the public, private and philanthropic sectors and communities across the City. The selection panel is co-chaired by Joseph H. Jacovini, Chairman of Dilworth Paxson LLP, and Daniel J. Hilferty, President and CEO, Independence Blue Cross.

“Richardson Dilworth was a tremendous leader who believed in civil service and fought for its reform. The winner of the Dilworth Award embodies the spirit of Mayor Dilworth’s values and dedicated service to Philadelphia,” said Joseph H. Jacovini. “It is an honor to chair the incredibly diverse and knowledgeable selection committee panel for the Dilworth Award.”

Daniel J. Hilferty added, “I am honored to co-chair the committee that will help select the winner of this year’s prestigious Richardson Dilworth Award. The recipient of this award will be recognized for his or her exceptional contributions in public service and deep commitment to making the City of Philadelphia a better place to live, work, and play– truly carrying on the legacy of Richardson Dilworth’s leadership and service.”

The winner of the Richardson Dilworth Award will receive a $5,000 after taxes cash prize, four tickets to the Mayor’s Box event of his or her choice, the employee’s name engraved on a plaque on display in City Hall and an honorary luncheon for the winner, his or her family, and nominators.

The winner of the 2012 Richardson Dilworth Award for Distinguished Public Service was Carlton Williams, who was a Streets Department Deputy Commissioner at the time and is now the Commissioner of the Department of Licenses and Inspections. The 2013 Richardson Dilworth Award winner was John Elfrey, Director of Operations in the Office of Transportation and Utilities. The third winner of the annual award will be announced during winter 2014.